NAB: Apple VS Avid

Posted by Stopedog 
NAB: Apple VS Avid
April 18, 2007 07:04PM
Looking at Apple's booth vs. Avid's at NAB this year...the aesthetics of each of their spaces kinda reflects the companies product lines. Avid had lots of little booths scattered all over their area with liitle or no cohesion between them. Apple on the other hand had a floorplan layout that matches their editing philosphy. Avid's booth was as convuluted as their product line.

Just my observations from Monday and Tuesday.

"Never underestimate a kick to the nuts"
Bas Rutten
Re: NAB: Apple VS Avid
April 19, 2007 09:38PM
Well, they have many different products with various applications. I wasn't confused at all.

I am an editor that uses both, and I am impressed with both. Avid Media Composer has the best media management in the business, no doubt. You can capture DV, HDV, DVCPRO HD via firewire and mix them all on the timeline, no rendering. But so can many other editing systems, like FCP 6, Edius, Matrox Axio, Premiere Pro. But, you can take footage captured on an adrenaline and convert all of it to DV, transfer it to a firewire drive, and edit that on a laptop. Then e-mail the cut to the other system and it opens up and links up automatically.

I love the dynamic trimming in Avid, the way the effects can be added to clips or used to create custom transitions. Animatte, advanced tracking, LOCATORS!!! EDL and OMF support is big. I like the Avid Application. But, I am still a huge Apple fan as well. They both are great editors.

DNxHD codec is huge. But now Apple has ProRes 422, also huge.

Avid has a great integrated color correction system. Apple has a very decent one, but is bundled with one that rivals DaVinci in that it can do. Mind you, it will take an expert on it to do what you can with a daVinci, but, it is there.