Export Question

Posted by billy 
Export Question
April 21, 2007 05:04PM
Hello,
This is my first time using FCP and DVD Sudio Pro, so basically what I need is for someone to tell me step by step what the best way to export is. My footage was shot on a Canon xm2 (mini dv Pal) & I want to create the best quality dvd possible (also, which is the best dvd to use?).
Thanks a million,
Billy.
Re: Export Question
April 21, 2007 06:09PM
wow billy. thats a lot that youre asking for there. kinda like "can you compress several chapters of the manual into a few lines?"

if its just about exporting for use in dvdspro, you can do one of two things:

1. file > export > quicktime movie - using current settings, audio and video and CHECK "recompress all frames " and "make movie self contained. this creates a stand alone movie that you can bring into dvdspro. and its is NOT dependent on your source fcp project. downside is this can take time and results in large and later redundant files

2. file > export > quicktime movie - using current settings, audio and video and DO NOT CHECK "recompress all frames " and "make movie self contained. this creates a "reference movie" that you can bring into dvdspro. and its is VERY MUCH dependent on your source fcp project. if you change or move anything (like backing up your projects to another folder) you will have to re-export from fcp and thus re-import the movie to dvdspro should you want to make another dvd in the future.

from what ive seen there is not difference in QUALITY in the two methods, just a matter of how much space and time you have and how dilligent you are at file management
April 21, 2007 08:28PM
hi wayne

what would be the benefit to checking "recompress all frames" in either of these situations
genuinely interested

cheers
Andy
April 22, 2007 02:03AM
wow - honestly, i dont know. just part of what ive always heard as part of the fcp independant stand- alone process... im happy to be wrong on that one?
April 22, 2007 03:59AM