Editing HDV...stupid issues...

Posted by dolphman 
Editing HDV...stupid issues...
May 10, 2007 01:06AM
Hey Guys,

I'm new to all things HD. I have a problem.

A friend shot a bunch of footage on one of the new Sony HDV cameras (I don't know which).

I dumped it into my computer via Imovie HD. I find importing footage via Imovie relatively painless.

I took the "clips" Imovie captured and moved them into a seperate folder and renamed them more user-friendly names (take1...BobCloseUp...etc). They all look great and work well. I then imported them into a FCP project.

The problem is, It's impossible for me to create a project files in FCP that's able to edit the HDV footage without having to render every single clip and cut. I'm using Final Cut Studio 5.04. I heard it is supposed to natively support editing HDV. Doesn't seem to want to though.

I've played with a variety of Sequence Settings to make it work, but no luck. A 5 second edit takes almost 30 seconds to render. Terrible workflow.

SO, here's the deal. I don't care about the HD quality. I don't need this project to even be HD. Is there a way to play with the render settings lower so I can just edit without having to render these HDV cuts, or can I find a way to make the clips NOT HD, like re-exporting as something else.

The problem is, i don't have the camera the footage was shot on nor do I have the tapes.

Fun, huh?
Any help is appreciated. Again, this isn't about maintaing HD quality, it's about getting the project done.
Re: Editing HDV...stupid issues...
May 10, 2007 02:05AM
I dumped it into my computer via Imovie HD. I find importing footage via Imovie relatively painless.

BAD idea. iMovie doesn't capture timecode. It doesn't capture into a format that FCP edits without a bit of arm twisting (rendering)...and if the footage is at all 24p, then FCP 5.0.4 won't work with it.