PROBLEMS between FCP HD 4.5 and Mac OS X 10.4.9
May 28, 2007 06:17PM
Hello All!

I don't know much about all of this yet. Thanks to the expert Koz who has also been helping me out. I thought though I should send a message out to warn people as I had no clue about this before. I hope this is okay and I am no expert like most of you guys are, but I just wanted to warn people that possibly there are problems between FCP HD4.5 and MacOS X 10.4.9. So watch out before you upgrade to 10.4.9. Mac released this on it:
[docs.info.apple.com]

I am having stuttering,stopping of image while the sound continues so everything is out of sync. It is a nightmare.

They by mistake installed mac os x 10.4 on my computer at the apple store while on a trip far from home, so I don't have the installation disk to downgrade to 10.4.8. I only have the original 10.3 disc that came with my powerbook. Is it possible to downgrade to 10.3?? How does one do this safely??

Thanks to anyone for help.

Cheers,
Robert

I am on a powerbook g4 (1.25Ghz, 1,25GB RAM, using an external la cie d2 firewire 800 drive.)
Re: PROBLEMS between FCP HD 4.5 and Mac OS X 10.4.9
May 28, 2007 08:36PM
Just putting this FAQ link in here for future readers Problems with FCP 4.5 (and older) and OS 10.4.9

May 28, 2007 11:39PM
Hi Robert

I was having terrible problems capturing, a conflict between FCP 4.5 and OSX 10.4.9 after an update, as I reported on this forum, but never solved the problem until I saw the following post on May 21st by Phil Thomas. It worked like a charm. No need to archive and reinstall. No need to backtrack, no need to search for an older copy of Quicktime, replace my decks, camera, computer, or wife. And a week later is still working. I suggest you give it a try.

"This worked for me.

1. From the Apple menu, choose System Preferences.
2. From the View menu, choose Spotlight.
3. Click the Privacy tab to reveal the areas that Spotlight will not index.