OT - Flash overtaking Quicktime?

Posted by Karan 
OT - Flash overtaking Quicktime?
May 29, 2007 10:50AM
Hi guys,

Sorry to go off topic, but I've been wandering. Recently everywhere I go on the web where there is some form of video content, the video is delivered via flash or some youtube-like variant. I seem to see less and less Quicktime clips on the web. Anyone else notice this? it's a shame cause I think QT is a far superior viewing medium.

So is flash-video giving Apple and QT a run for it's money?

Karan
Re: OT - Flash overtaking Quicktime?
May 29, 2007 11:08AM
I'm no expert, but I feel like it's apples and oranges. Flash is frequently used because it plays on practically any computer with a web browser. QuickTime is not nearly so universal, but I'd consider QuickTime a much more professional format because of how fast it responds, the quality. And also, Flash crashes my web browser all the time -- can't tell you how many times some graphic-oversaturated animated web ad has crashed my browser when I'm just trying to read the New York Times or Billboard online.

With the commercial company I work for, they've resisted even using Flip4Mac for their PC-using clients because you can't frame-advance and control over the playback is sloppy and hiccupy. It's QuickTime and MPEGs all the way there. But I'm guessing the majority of people watching video casually on the web are more than happy with Flash and YouTube-level (ie. garbage) video quality. But Flash can't do many of the jobs QuickTime can, and vice versa.

www.derekmok.com
May 29, 2007 11:26AM
Flash is a very bit conscious delivery system for the web. Taking a 5 minute QT file and importing it into flash, then exporting to a swf file can get a reasonable quality video lower than 1 MB is size.

A Flash .swf file is a great way to deliver content off a web site but is ONLY a delivery format. it's still garbage in = garbage out, but the compression into a .swf is very usable.