OT: Editor relocating to L.A. area

Posted by pscheehle 
OT: Editor relocating to L.A. area
June 26, 2007 10:54AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a freelance FCP editor currently working in Boston, and beyond editing I also do quite a bit of DVD authoring and also AE work. My girlfriend has the opportunity to relocate to LA w/ her company, and I was hoping those of you working in the LA area might give me some advice as we are contemplating the opportunity. I have been working professionally as an editor for about 7 years, mainly in FCP though I started on AVID. I have broadcast editing experience but the majority of my work comes from commercials, promos, institutional videos, and documentary features/shorts.

I'm looking for any advice from those who have relocated to LA as ediors as to the prospects of finding work, i.e. what the transition may be like, how long it may take to find decent jobs/freelance opporunities, perhaps any bias I would encounter as a new transplant from the Right coast etc. I have no clue what it may be like, so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks ahead of time for anyone who takes the time to offer advice or share their experiences.

Pete
Re: OT: Editor relocating to L.A. area
June 26, 2007 12:57PM
This is one perspective - ONLY! I moved from LA to the midwest because there are more editiors that work there. That is unless your work is very specialized.

Frankly, the market is flooded with editors just about everywhere. if you have clientelle' in Boston, then I would not tell you to expect the same in LA.

There will be other perspectives that folow.
June 26, 2007 02:27PM
There are one or two "shocks" that happen when you move here.

The guy washing your car may be more creative than you are and already has a deal in the works at Warner's--or has a three-page IMDb. Or both.

The graffitti outside the building is Disney grade character developement because the people who made it...came from Disney Animation.