KEN BURNS EFFECT: to the next level?

Posted by stewgoddard 
KEN BURNS EFFECT: to the next level?
July 26, 2007 04:17PM
I know of Ken Burns / Civil War Docos: But I've never watched any of them. I've read about his "Effect": which I beilieve takes a photograph and turns it into a pan/zoom shot.

Lately I've seen this type of edit (on Speed TVs show: The Motocross Files). But it' taken to another level, by the edit to include layering (I'm guessing).

EXAMPLE: By taking a photo of a guy riding a motorcycle and creating one layer (only the outlind of the guy/bike: everything else transparent), and the 2nd layer the background. By making the background move/pan, and zoom into the guy/bike - makes for a great effect...

I'm very new to FCP, is this effect something possible in FCP/PS? If so, anyone know of a post that gives the "How To:"?
Re: KEN BURNS EFFECT: to the next level?
July 26, 2007 04:36PM
You are talking about an effect that was first made famous in a documentary (sort of) called The Kid Stays in The Picture. There was a tutorial on this out there somewhere a few years back. It mostly relies on the 3D space of AfterEffects or anything similar. (Motion maybe, I don't know, Shake is likely)

Basically it requires doing what you said but the grunt work is filling in the background where the foreground used to be so that when the viewing angle changes the BG appears continuous and distinct from the FG and noticeably further away from the viewer.

ak
Sleeplings, AWAKE!
July 26, 2007 04:39PM
You talking about this?

[www.lafcpug.org]

Michael Horton
-------------------
July 26, 2007 04:42PM
You can do this in FCP. It doesn't require AE or 3D capabilities. It just requires skill in creating the multiple layer graphics files for the foreground, mid-ground and background objects.
July 26, 2007 05:02PM
Here's a great tutorial. Very effective...

[www.digitaljuice.com]
July 26, 2007 05:11PM