Avid files in Final Cut Pro?

Posted by mikedub 
Avid files in Final Cut Pro?
August 30, 2007 06:55PM
Hello,
I am a Final Cut Pro editor that has been forced to edit on an Avid system. I am beating my head against a wall with the amount of footage that I have to edit (28hours for a 10min piece) and now I also have to deal with the pain in the a$$ of learning Avid. I know Avid is a widely used piece editing system, but it is not easy by any means. I have spent about four days on the thing and am no where. I am hoping that there is some way I can plug the external Hard Drive into my mac and somehow magically make all the files show up? Is this at all possible? Is there a price I can pay to end this misery? Please, if anyone can help I could really use it.

Thanks in advance,
Mike
Re: Avid files in Final Cut Pro?
August 30, 2007 11:22PM
you're going to have to get over this my friend.
as a pro editor you need to be able to work on all the top tier NLE's not just FCP

as for the Avid codec media, they used to work, then they stopped ... don't know what th ecurrent status is. it may be a ppc/intel issue, but you can download the latest version here:
[www.avid.com]

also the "fcp2avid" website may (or may not) be of some help.
August 30, 2007 11:29PM
FWIW, I have to take in Avid Meridien files from an FTP site) and put them to tape, which I do via Final Cut. Avid has a plug in for quicktime that allows QT to play Meridien files.
Works well.
And as to the software issue, I agree with Andy. The job title is "editor", not "software operator".
J
August 31, 2007 01:52AM