A Camera Question

Posted by producerking 
A Camera Question
October 16, 2007 12:47AM
Hi all--

If you will allow me, may I ask a question that I am sure has been asked a great many times in the past year or so (maybe longer).

I am a producer who has recently been awarded a modest budget feature length children's project. A new version of a fairy tale. This is the first of four such children's feature projects. The films all have distribution for foreign and domestic home video (DVD). As well foreign cable in place.

The company that is financing the projects wishes to create a small production company to produce the films. A company that owns all its' production and post production equipment. Thus the reason for the question.

What's the best camera for these projects?

Now I am a producer with considerable experience and have produced projects from $2,000 to $10 million. I have had the wonderful opportunity to working with talented D/Ps and camera packages ranging from Panavision to Arriflex to Sony 900 to Panasonic HVX-200 to the current project that is shooting the Panasonic HPX-500. I understand cameras and what each offers.

I would usually look for a D/P with a package, but the company wishes to own all its' gear.

So--

The question is what "affordable" (prosumer end) camera would be the best for shooting these four features? The budgets are very low, therefore economy is important. That said, I wish to use the best equipment possible at the best price.