Video freezes on capture after 5 minutes

Posted by Fahrquad 
Video freezes on capture after 5 minutes
November 13, 2007 04:42AM
BS"D

I'm working on an eMac, 1GHz G4, 512mb RAM, OSX 10.3.9, FCP 4.5. I've been using this for the last 2 years or so with no capture problems, until today.

Suddenly, the video freezes on capture after the clip becomes 5 minutes long. The audio continues, I get the SBBOD, and then have to force quit. I trashed prefs, repaired permissions - it occurs whether recording to a 320 gig Western Digital external hard drive, or to my system drive, both of which have plenty of room.

Should I reinstall FCP? If so, how do I do that? Any other suggestions would be mightily appreciated.
Re: Video freezes on capture after 5 minutes
November 13, 2007 09:35AM
General rule, guys -- don't use words like "plenty". Doesn't tell us anything we need to know to help diagnose the problem.

How much room, exactly, is left on each of your drives? Are they properly formatted? Did you do any software updates recently? Running antivirus? Also check the "Limit Capture" System Preference.

www.derekmok.com
November 13, 2007 09:47AM
I've got 130 gig left on my 320 gig drive, and 21 gig left on my 60 gig drive; formats on hard disks haven't changed and I've been capturing since July with the external hard drive (and system drive for small jobs) with no problems. Software update - I'm not sure - is Quick Time 7.3.0 the latest update? - since that's what I'm running. I'm not running any antivirus programs in the computer, but my server supposedly runs an antivirus on my email. My capture limit is, and has been, 70 minutes.
The only thing consistent about the problem is that the video freezes at 5 minutes of capturing, so smaller clips are no problem, but someone's wedding will be a problem if I have to load in 5-minute increments.
November 13, 2007 12:16PM