"Copy Master Clip" window... make it stop!

Posted by jwilliam 
"Copy Master Clip" window... make it stop!
December 13, 2007 04:02PM
I'm working in FCP 6.0.

I have a bunch of master clips that are over an hour long each. I logged them with markers, basically by scene number. When I load up the marker for "scene 1" into my viewer and start cutting, every time I drag footage to my timeline I get this window that pops up:

COPY MASTER CLIP

A master clip already exists for a clip you are adding to this project, but some of its properties do not match those of the clip you are adding. Choose how you want to resolve this conflict from the options below...

What is this? And how do I make it stop? This makes me think that I'm unclear on how FCP organizes its media, or keeps links between things.

As a long-time AVID guy, the way I'd normally organize a project like this is by subclipping my master tape by scene, and then using markers to flag each take, and maybe putting it all into a bin marked "scene 1".

I know that FCP doesn't like sub-clips, especially when you re-name them. But this is a weird problem with markers, and it's quite irritating to have to click through this window every time I make an edit.

Any thoughts or explanations of this window?
Re: "Copy Master Clip" window... make it stop!
December 14, 2007 01:38AM
What do you mean by, "FCP doesn't like sub-clips, especially when you re-name them?" I've never had any issues with subclips unless you are referring to EDL confusion. I don't see any reason why you can organize your project the same way you did on the Avid.

As for your problem, I'm not sure exactly what's going on, but have you tried to edit the clip into the timeline as opposed to dragging it into the timeline. It's possible that the act of drag and drop with a marker "sub-clip" might be telling FCP something different than just "put the clip in the timeline". Try hitting F10, or dragging the clip from the viewer to the canvas instead.

Andy