What do you mean "Operation Not Allowed"???

Posted by jmlpost 
What do you mean "Operation Not Allowed"???
January 04, 2008 04:22PM
Hello, O blessed LAFCPUG, I have hit a weird snag. I bought a band new Final Cut Studio 2 package a few months ago but haven't used it much since I got it. I've been using FCP for many years and versoins and consider myself a pretty tuned user but I've found FCP6 to be a little buggy in ways I didn't expect and find myself having to restart probably more often than I really should.

Dual 1.8Ghz G5 Power PC, 2 gig RAM, fully updated OSX, all updates for FCP6, and FCP5 ran on this machine for years with no trouble at all.

Among other little frustrations, today I'm cutting a VERY simple DV rez timeline, nothing fancy at all, and I want to move my video track 1 to video track 2, and then duplicate it below so I can do some staggered effects on different tracks while keeping the same moving picture - should be simple... BUT when I copy my timeline (about 25 seconds and only 4 cuts) and drag it to V1 it says that THIS OPERATION IS NOT ALLOWED, a red screen I've never seen before pops up in canvas and the FCP crashes and vanishes. Very weird.

What could I be doing wrong?

Any help will be rewarded with generous compliments.

Thank you!

Josh
Re: What do you mean "Operation Not Allowed"???
January 04, 2008 05:06PM
> I want to move my video track 1 to video track 2, and then duplicate it below so I can do some
> staggered effects on different tracks while keeping the same moving picture - should be simple...
> BUT when I copy my timeline (about 25 seconds and only 4 cuts) and drag it to V1

OK, unless this description is wrong, it looks like you're trying to nest a timeline into itself. That's an impossible operation and may have triggered the "bug" you're talking about.