Avid sequence into FCP

Posted by ErikR 
Avid sequence into FCP
February 27, 2008 03:55PM
I've looked around the board and have seen some answers like Sebsky Tools for getting clips into FCP from Avid, or Automatic Duck for importing OMF 2.0 files. Maybe they're related to my question, but since I've never done this before, I figured I'd ask.

I've got a project in Avid, that a client wants to be able to open in his FCP. Is there a way to get my edited sequences over in FCP? I don't see anything like that listed for Sebsky or Automatic Duck (unless I'm not looking hard enough).

Thanks
Re: Avid sequence into FCP
February 27, 2008 04:35PM
Sebsky Tools can help you get logged clips from Avid to FCP, not an edited sequence.

Pro Import FCP is a plug-in from Automatic Duck that imports an AAF or OMF 2.0 file exported from your Avid. Export the sequence to AAF or OMF, then use Pro Import FCP to bring it into FCP.
Pro Import FCP product page

--
Wes Plate
Automatic Duck, Inc.
[www.automaticduck.com]
February 27, 2008 04:41PM
And that will include the video?
February 27, 2008 04:46PM
Are you asking "Does the media get translated as well as the sequence?"

--
Wes Plate
Automatic Duck, Inc.
[www.automaticduck.com]
February 27, 2008 04:52PM
Not the media itself. But the sequence that's imported will have the video and audio in the sequence, so when they batch the tapes in, everything will be there from my original cut, and they can make whatever changes they need to my edit.

Is there a demo to see how it works?
February 27, 2008 04:55PM
The answer to your question is Yes, the edits from both video and audio tracks will appear in FCP so that they can batch capture and restore the project.

We do not make demo versions of our products, however you can send me a test sequence (zipped) and I will reply to you with it in an FCP project file. Include in your email the version of FCP you're using.

--
Wes Plate
Automatic Duck, Inc.
[www.automaticduck.com]
February 27, 2008 04:59PM