Audio ducker?

Posted by bdplaid 
Audio ducker?
April 04, 2008 05:27PM
Hi,

I've looked and looked but can't find an automatic audio ducker for FCP. Any suggestions?

thanks,

HarryD
Re: Audio ducker?
April 04, 2008 05:34PM
Afraid not. It's called work. You have to do it manually with keyframes or with the mixer.
April 04, 2008 08:21PM
Garage Band has this.tongue sticking out smiley
I'm pretty sure SoundTrackPro 2.0.2 has this (side chaining).
April 05, 2008 01:18AM
Just to be clear-- you are asking about sound ducking -- like you might use to control sound under voice track-- not "Automatic Duck," which is a similar sounding thing but a totally unrelated software for file translation.

My businesses handle both sound and video, but I am originally an audio post mixer by trade, and I still mix. The best ducker I ever "heard" was a hardware noise gate made by Drawmer.

The truth is however, while I've played with duckers, I've never -- not once -- relied on a ducker in a TV show or commercial or anything I've worked on. They are simply more trouble than they are worth and don't lead to a professional enough sounding mix (too mechanical and not flexible enough). In the end it really is about fader moves and automation. No way around it.

Best to leave duckers to doing the job of lowering the music when your hostess announces that your table is ready.

Mike Klinger
Tree Falls Post/Clonetown
Los Angeles
April 05, 2008 04:49AM
Thanks for the responses. I'm definitely looking for an audio ducker, not automatic duck.

I'm also an audio guy (and musician and composer). i used to side chain two Urei compressors, which worked like a charm.

Boy, that manual approach really seems outdated. it's the way we did it 20+ years ago. I'd think FCP would have this, since it's more or less a standard thing.

I guess my table's not ready yet.

thanks.

HarryD
April 05, 2008 12:52PM