You want me to sign what?!?!!??!

Posted by Gregory O'Toole 
You want me to sign what?!?!!??!
June 25, 2008 11:22AM
Hey Everyone...

I am an independent contractor editor in the US. I work for lots of different clients and bounce around between them.

This week however, one of my largest and most consistent clients asked me to sign a contract as an independent contractor. I have worked for them on and off for almost two years without having signed anything. They have an in-house Producer and Executive Producer, but hire individual contractors for editing, shooting, sound, graphics, etc.

The contract that they want me to sign is really concerning, but I wanted to get peoples' opinions on it. The most concerning things are the following:

1) "Contractor warrants that...the work product delivered...does not violate or infringe upon any copyright, trademark....or confidentiality right of a third party." That seems like the responsibility of the production house....

2) "Contractor shall indemnify, pay the defense costs of, and hold harmless, The EMPLOYER, its clients, and their respective successors...from any and all actions, causes of action, claims, demands, costs, losses, liabilities, expenses and damages (including reasonable attorney's fees) arising out of or in connection with Contractor's Services,...or any use by the EMPLOYER or third party of any Work Product." As I understand that, if they get sued for something said in the video, I am responsible. This is my biggest concern.

3) "Contractor shall maintain i) comprehensive general liability insurance with a limit of $100,000 per occurrence...iii) errors and omissions coverage with ...a limit of $1,000,000 per occurrence....

I have to have E&O insurance?!?!? I'm responsible for the content of the project?!!?!?