FCP HD system specs question

Posted by RepoMan 
FCP HD system specs question
July 10, 2008 01:41PM
I'm getting ready to buy a system to edit a doc I'm directing. I shot DVCPRO HD 1080i60, about 4 hours. I'll have approx. another 5-10 hours of archival footage (digibeta probably), plus photos, motion graphics, etc.

I want to mirror the footage in case of any file corruption, and of course storage and speed are concerns. I wasn't sure whether the external RAID (see below) was overkill, as I plan to do an internal RAID. I'd like to avoid buying a AJA or Blackmagic card, as I plan to use the FCP HD codec for offlining.

I'm new to HD, so I'm curious what the forum folks think of these specs to edit the project (I plan to do my online and mix out of house, so this is really more of an offline system).
Any tips as to what to keep or leave out are greatly appreciated.

---

Mac PRO:

* Two 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8-core)
* 8GB (4 x 2GB)
* Mac Pro RAID Card
4 internal drives (internal RAID):
* 750GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
* NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB (Two dual-link DVI)
* Apple Cinema Display (20" flat panel)
* Two 16x SuperDrives
* AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Pro (w/or w/o
Display) - Auto-enroll

- Plus additional lower-end Blackmagic card of some kind (to
hook up to my LCD HDMI TV as 'client' monitor) if needed.

Then for the external mirrored RAID :

Guardian MAXimus - FireWire® 800/400+USB 2.0 Hardware
RAID-1 (Mirrored) Data Redundant Solution with up to
1.0TB + 1.0TB storage capacity

-----

Once again, many thanks in advance for your help.
Re: FCP HD system specs question
July 10, 2008 02:35PM
Looks pretty alright. It's a pretty mean Mac. The capture card is mainly used as a link to decks/monitor but since you're doing that out of house, you could skip it. 8 gigs of RAM may be a bit too much for FCP if you're mainly using FCP, though.