Exporting stills to Photoshop

Posted by shelleyrae 
Exporting stills to Photoshop
August 08, 2008 12:29PM
Hi,

I'm very new to Photoshop so wonder if you can tell me the best way to accomplish my goal.

I have a surveillance video in my FC timeline that I need to pull stills from. I need to enlarge and sharpen in Photoshop to try and identify someone sitting in a car. Should I export as a jpeg or photoshop file to bring it into photoshop to work on it?

Also, any other tips on how to bring about detail besides the sharpening filter and adjusting the contrast would be helpful to know.

Thanks,
Shelley

Shelley
MacBoo Pro 2015
16 GB Ram
OS X 10.13
Premiere Pro CC
Re: Exporting stills to Photoshop
August 08, 2008 01:23PM
You'll get lots of opinions on this, but we'll start with mine. I do a lot of still capturing from video.

Avoid capturing as JPG, choose TIFF or PNG. PSD is overkill. JPG compresses, and loses detail in a picture that is already pretty lousy if it's from a surveillance cam.

The biggest image improver of all when capturing from video is to de-interlace. in PS: Filters > Video > de-interlace. You have a choice of upper or lower field, try each one to see what looks best. You might even want both, in separate images. You'll be amazed at the improvement if there was any motion at all in the video.

For contrast adjustment, use Levels (cmd-L). the Auto button often does a great job by itself.

It's a start.

Scott
August 08, 2008 06:04PM
I would use TIFF as it normally uses less space on disk.
With layered TIFF you can also use Scott's method of de-interlacing by copy the basic layer to a second one and then use the different line inpretations. Set the transparency of the second layer to 50%.
You also set both layers to 50% and then used "add" for the layers behaviours - this will give you a slightly different result.
Layered TIFFs keep all the PSD options while they are smaller and easier to handle with FCP.

Andreas