baffled by sync problem in FCP 5.0

Posted by AmyF 
baffled by sync problem in FCP 5.0
December 04, 2008 02:15PM
Hi All,
I'm having a bizarre sync problem on capture and would be grateful for any wisdom...

Here's the system I'm using...
FCP 5.0
QT 7.5.5
OS 10.5.5
MacPro w/ 2 x 3 Ghz Dual Core Xeon processors

When I capture, everything is waaaaaay out of sync. It doesn't seem to drift - seems to stay the same amount out of sync from start to finish of the clip, regardless of the length of the clip. I watch the clips as they digitize, and they look fine. But then they are out of sync in FCP and also out of sync when I open them directly in quicktime.

I should add that I am new to FCP 5.0 (yes, I am still in the dark ages and was working on 4.5 until very recently) and when I capture these clips, when it gets to the end of a capture, it brings up a window that says "validating audio data" - something I have never seen before in FCP.

I tried trashing my prefs - no difference.

I tried capturing to my internal drive instead of my externals - no difference.

I tried using capture now instead of batch capture - no difference.

I double checked my audio/video settings to make sure that I am watching the clips on my computer and monitoring audio through the computer's built-in audio - still out of sync. Also tried watching/listening via firewire output through my deck/external monitor - still out of sync.

I'm stumped. Any ideas what could be causing this? Many thanks for your advice.
Re: baffled by sync problem in FCP 5.0
December 04, 2008 02:46PM
1st thing i notice is that youre running a way old version of fcp on the newest mac operating system...
December 04, 2008 03:10PM
I think Wayne's onto something. I don't think that old of a version of FCP even knows what an Intel processor is, let alone how to play nice with it.

You may be stuck upgrading.

deb
December 05, 2008 01:06AM