seeking codec / color space advice to achieve clean compositing

Posted by backline101 
seeking codec / color space advice to achieve clean compositing
January 12, 2009 02:07PM
I'm a drummer, audio editor and cameraman about to buy an HD camcorder, new 17" MacBookPro, 24" Apple LED display, Final Cut Studio 2, either Shake or After Effects for compositing and software training to create kids HD videos with lots of compositing. I have the luxury of a few months to learn the software to get up to speed.

I haven't decided on a camera and am considering AVCHD Canon HF11, a Canon 5D MArk II (H.264), and the Sony EX1 (MPEG2 4:2:0). I'm aware I can transcode the files from the compressed files of any of these cameras to ProRes, then edit & composite. I'm seeking advice from seasoned editors / compositors about if there's a huge end result quality difference in working with 4:2:2 ProRes files captured directly from the uncompressed out of a camera (telling me if I need to purchase an AJA ioHD). Having really clean composites is my goal, while spending as little on camera (and possible AJA ioHD), to retain more of my budget for audio gear. Thanks, Pete.
Re: seeking codec / color space advice to achieve clean compositing
January 12, 2009 02:30PM
The more information you get, the better your composite and color correction. Yes, shooting ProRes 4:2:2 from the get go will get you a MUCH CLEANER key than transcoding 4:2:0. And much more color to work with in color correction.

The amount of difference will astonish you. HDV 4:2:0 falls off pretty fast.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
January 12, 2009 02:39PM
Pulling a key off chroma-subsampled footage can be an infuriating, depressing experience. Using 4:2:2 isn't the end of the world, but it's a pain. Going with 4:2:0 or 4:1:1 or any of those will make you question your career choice on a daily basis.