dpx questions

Posted by Göran 
dpx questions
January 14, 2009 10:04AM
Hi all!

I need some help here.
We´re going to shoot a commercial and deliver it to a post production house
so they can put some 3d stuff in it.
I need to deliver dpx files. I have no experience of this what so ever.
How do I do this?
We probably are going to shoot it on RED.
What´s the workflow on delivering dpx?

Can someone please help me out here?
Re: dpx questions
January 14, 2009 10:36AM
DPX is more or less the industry standard for high-resolution work. Film, when scanned, comes out as a sequence of images in DPX format, one image per frame. In broad strokes, DPX is basically an image file format like TIFF. What makes it special is that it's usually 10-bit logarithmic, making it a really good choice for material scanned from film.

Red is 12-bit linear, not 10-bit log, if I remember correctly. So you have two ways of converting R3D to industry-standard image sequences. You can either convert to 10-bit log DPX, or you can convert to 16-bit linear TIFF. I'm not experienced enough with Red to say whether one choice is better than the other for any reason.

A whole Red production pipeline tutorial is beyond the scope of this message board, and I'm not qualified to give you all the ins and outs anyway. But generally what people do is offline the Red footage using either camera proxies or (I think more commonly) ProRes files transcoded from the camera proxies. Since this is just an offline it can be at any resolution. Then one of a number of tools is used to take the Final Cut XML file and do a neg cut off the Red files, generating 2K DPX sequences with handles. Then those sequences are conformed to the offline cut just as they would be if they'd come off a film scanner.

January 14, 2009 10:37AM
Read this:

[www.red.com]

www.derekmok.com
January 15, 2009 11:22AM
Thank´s Jeff for the info!