how to capture at 59.97 for slow motion using dvx100a

Posted by bigcurt2000 
how to capture at 59.97 for slow motion using dvx100a
February 12, 2009 02:39AM
I can't seem to capture video at 59.97 to give a slow motion effect when I move it down to 24p. Then 40% speed. I keep getting a "general error" when try to capture at 60i. I'm new to this so bear with me.. (OVERCRANKING)

my camera is dvx100a!
Re: how to capture at 59.97 for slow motion using dvx100a
February 12, 2009 08:55AM
Can't really be done. To make a psuedo slowmo with the DVX100 on a 24p timeline, you should shoot in 60i and capture in 29.97 not 59.94. Then change the speed of that speed of that clip so that it plays back slow.

Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!
Author, RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera available now at: [www.amazon.com].
Editors Store- Gifts and Gear for Editors: [www.editorsstore.com]
February 12, 2009 09:26AM
Noah, The only way i know to shoot 60i on a dvx100 is to give up progressive anything. I have some dvx100b's and it has only a choice of 60i, 30p, 24p, and 24pa. I shoot 30p like a religion. (90%)

With that said, how can you get 60p on the darn thing? Is it done in post?

I have been trying to shift fields and run 60i thru compressor to get a 60p look. No success so far. I wanted to do the slowmo thing plenty of times but it looks terrible most of the time.

""" What you do with what you have, is more important than what you could do, with what you don't have."

> > > Knowledge + Action = Wisdom - J. Corbett 1992
""""
February 12, 2009 09:46AM
Yeah that's the thing- this is a 60i/24p/30p camera. If you want 60p you'd need an HVX200 or an HPX170. Or get a plugin such as

[www.revisionfx.com]

or

[www.nattress.com]

-Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!