While using FCP got a popup window saying to SHUT DOWN the computer.

Posted by Monatcat 
While using FCP got a popup window saying to SHUT DOWN the computer.
June 20, 2009 04:28PM
HELP. I've got a G5 dual 2G tower (with FCP 6.5 on it, and 2.5 gig of memory). While I was editing some video today, I suddenly had a warning window to "SHUT DOWN my computer immediately." I could also hear that either the hard-drives or fans were spinning full blast. I'm fairly new to the editing biz, so I'm not sure if I was over-taxing my mac on the render (it was only a 2 layers of HD on a minute long clip), or if it was simply a Mac problem.

Any ideas? Is my harddrive going? My memory bad? The whole screen seems to darken, and a gray POP UP WINDOW appears telling me the above (shut down immediately).
Re: While using FCP got a popup window saying to SHUT DOWN the computer.
June 20, 2009 05:05PM
If the screen dimmed slightly when this happened, this is a kernel panic, and is almost always a hardware problem. If it happens again there is most likely a problem with the RAM or the motherboard. The computer should be taken to a service technician. This is not an FCP problem.
June 20, 2009 09:10PM
A Kernal Panic also usually includes the error screen that says "You're f$#@!ed" translated into 4 languages along with a power button icon (which is the only way you can shut down at that point...is to push & hold the power button).

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

June 20, 2009 11:45PM
Did the grey layer descend from the top? It usually descends from the top down, like a curtain of death, and as Joey said, You're f&&%@d."

Even our crashes are more stylish.

- Loren
Today's FCP keytip:

Cycle Image to Image & Wireframe to Wireframe with W !

Final Cut Studio 2 KeyGuide? Power Pack.
Now available at KeyGuide Central.
www.neotrondesign.com
June 21, 2009 02:11AM
Hmmm....

It could be several different things, but one culprit could be the power supply.