XDCAM Workflow

Posted by Mike Hardcastle 
XDCAM Workflow
September 25, 2009 05:16AM
As this is my first post here, can I begin by saying how much I appreciate the time and effort that gets put into this forum. There's a generosity exhibited which is truly admirable.

I'm relatively new to FCP and will shortly be starting on a project which will be shot on XDCAM EX. Over recent weeks I have spent hours trawling through this forum gathering all the info I can about the best workflow for this format. I have picked up different tips from many postings and I'd just like to summarise what I've gleaned and ask for any comments.

1.) Use Sony's XDCAM Transfer to get the footage onto my media drive.

2.) Use Compressor to convert the footage to Prores 422 (but not Prores 422 HQ).

3.) Import the Prores to FCP.

My understanding is that XDCAM is a heavily compressed MPEG2 format which will likely demand heavy rendering and converting to Prores will reduce this problem.

Thanks in advance for any comments.

Mike
Re: XDCAM Workflow
September 25, 2009 05:36AM
Thanks for the kind words. You should send Mike (not you) some cookies for that.

I would actually say that you do not have to spend the weekend (or longer) converting everything to ProRes. For the most part, you will be able to work with the footage without having to render. However, renders and exports may take a while longer, so factor that into the equation.

www.strypesinpost.com
September 25, 2009 07:20AM
There's nothing wrong with the workflow you've described Mike, but whether or not its advisable / best for your project can depend on some info which is not stated, for example hardware and software setup for the project, basic nature of the project eg long/short form, shoot to edit ratio, edit style (cuts or transition, treatment/effects) etc.

That said, as you've done your homework I'm betting you've arrived at the above workflow carefully, so have at it, it should work just fine

Best
Andy