downloaded XDCAM decoder corrupted my system
October 08, 2009 05:24PM
Hey there best and brightest. New to group, need help. I have a large grey bar obscuring capture of HDV footage, and it appears on the timeline as well. In playback the bar is not there, but any time I add an effect, it gets pixelated and I see flashes of the bar. Problem started when I downloaded some decoding software for XDCAM HD. I've tried deleting the software, I think I have done so, but still have the problem. Upgraded to FCP7 and Snow Leopard today, STILL have the problem, even after deleting preferences. Any suggestions? I have show to cut!
Thanks very much,
Rodney
Re: downloaded XDCAM decoder corrupted my system
October 08, 2009 06:51PM
Check with the decoding software maker- they should send you proper uninstall instructions. I'd guess some sort of plugin is still in your QT player prefs or whatever.

Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!
Author, RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera available now at: [www.amazon.com].
Editors Store- Gifts and Gear for Editors: [www.editorsstore.com]
October 09, 2009 07:34AM
LOL ... not sure what Noah is on about with the "some sort of plugin is still in your QT player prefs or whatever." line but I'd say he's generally on the right track as in you've not actually uninstalled the quicktime component that is causing your issue.