Capturing HDV w/naughty timecode - The Horror

Posted by safracat 
Capturing HDV w/naughty timecode - The Horror
November 02, 2009 02:39PM
Hello FCP gurus and gods/goddesses.

I really need your help. Over the last few days I have been searching the internet (haystack) to find an answer (needle). I found similar problems, but no solutions.

This is my story...

I shot some very satisfying footage with the Canon XL-H1a set to HDV 720/1080 24f. This is my first time using this camera and the HDV format in general.

So I set out to capture with the following system:
Final Cut Pro 5.0
Mac OSX 10.4.11
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB 667 Mhz RAM
FireWire Bus 800 mb/sec
Hard Drive: FUJITSU MHW2120BH 112 gb (speed 1.5 gigabit/ACHI ver1.10 supported)
Graphics Card: ATY,RadeonX1600 VRAM (Total):128 MB

VTR deck = Canon XL-H1a set to HDV 720/1080 24f (via Firewire)

This being a very simple project, without a lot of footage to edit, I just set my
Final Cut Pro 5.0 to use Easy Setup HDV 1080i60f.

The screen shot showing the specs of my first try was using "Easy Setup" are seen below:

The Log&Capture window showed "VTR OK". I hit play and the CAPTURE NOW tab. The result was the screen below for the entire run of the tape:

I stopped the playback, and rejoiced at seeing that the system correctly created the clips based on camera start/stops. Except... then I realized that for a good part of the tape, no clips whatsoever appeared in the bin.

So... OK, the camera was having a problem and there was timecode breaks. So I switched my strategy to: Simplify the capture of footage with timecode of suspect integrity. And I reset my preferences thusly:

I used the camera's vtr controls directly to get to the place on the tape where the missed footage was located, confirmed that there was indeed a TC break there, and advanced into the tape 6-7 seconds after the tc restarted. Then I repeated the capture process using log&capture with easy setup.

The result?