HDV woes continue...need better workflow

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
HDV woes continue...need better workflow
January 07, 2010 02:59PM
Quick background...I have been shooting HDV with the Sony Z1U for 4 years now and have been editing everything in HDV and have been mastering HDV back to tape.

I have MAJOR issues with Compressor and how it compresses HDV footage...I have video captures now to prove it.

The problem is, if I use Compressor on my HDV footage, I get jaggies everywhere. My workaround has been to take my HDV edit master tape, go firewire onto a set top DVD recorder, use MPEG Streamclip to extract the M2V and AC3 files off the DVD, and then I author my final DVD in DVD Studio Pro with menus and all the trimmings.

I have been told in the past that there is no way that my workaround could look better than using Compressor, and until now, I haven't provided any hard proof of my problem.

Here are four captured images off a DVD (using Compressor DVD preset for best quality 120 minutes). One still is from a motion menu, and the other still is from the video with a lower third on it. I created two versions...one done in HDV and the other done in ProRes:

PRORES MENU
PRORES VIDEO
HDV MENU
HDV VIDEO

(please be sure to view at 100%)

Look at how smooth the logo looks on the ProRes, as well as look at anything that makes a 45 degree angle on the video still, such as elbows. Then look at the HDV version and see how jagged it is.

The HDV version is obviously unacceptable for most of my clients' work. I am still using Final Cut Studio 2, and I don't know if this problem is resolved in Final Cut Studio 3...is it?

The underlying problem is HDV...even if I convert it to ProRes, I still get these jaggies. If I capture as ProRes, everything looks fine. When I do my DVD recorder transfer, the video looks virtually identical to the ProRes screen capture (so I didn't do a capture from the DVD recorder).