carpel tunel and editing

Posted by alexedit 
carpel tunel and editing
March 04, 2010 12:59PM
This is not a direct FCP issue, but it's one that might affect most of us so I hope it doesn't get taken away from here.

Ok, so I have been an editor for 12 years now and I guess all the clicking has caused my right index finger to be really sore. The paint goes all the way to my arm. Has anyone experience something like this?

Is apple contemplating touchscreen editing for FCP?
Re: carpel tunel and editing
March 04, 2010 01:05PM
I personally haven't experienced that myself, touch wood, but I sympathize. For a while I was a "professional" writer ? in the sense that I did it for a living, not in the sense that I actually earned any income to speak of with it ? and the slight soreness and burning sensation in the backs of my hands was very real.

I know a lot of Final Cut editors who swear by a tablet. That's just replacing one repetitive motion with another, obviously, but maybe that's what you need: to mix it up, so you're not putting all the wear on one set of joints.

That said, I think the best advice you're gonna get is "talk to a doctor." If it's purely inflammation, he or she might end up suggesting a drug like Celebrex or another COX-2 inhibitor to take the discomfort away. And if it's more than that, and you're actually damaging your arm/hand/whatever, you'll at least have a chance to find out for sure before it get any worse.

March 04, 2010 01:12PM
Indeed talk to your doctor. I don't think touchscreen anything would make this better - just worse. A good wacom is, for me, the way to go. Others swear by trackballs.

Graeme
March 04, 2010 02:40PM

Tablet - That's just replacing one repetitive motion with another

Well after 18 years of using a tablet for more hours of the day than I sleep I can assure you unless you are cack-handed (or seriously repeating an awkward move) you won't get RSI from using a tablet.