Helicopter shoots

Posted by dom 
dom
Helicopter shoots
March 12, 2010 02:49AM
Hi Guys,
I've been given the exciting and challenging job of shooting from a chopper next week using my Sony PMW EX1. I'm shooting NTSC and either 1080/60i or 720/30p.
Its my first time doing something like this and i'm really anxious about screwing up the shot by not using the right shutter speed. We're gonna be flying low to the ocean and rain forests. Does anyone have any advise on shutter speed when moving quickly? And does it relate to whether i'm shooting 1080/60i or 720/30p?

Thanks for your help folk.
Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Dom Locher
Re: Helicopter shoots
March 12, 2010 06:44AM
Common wisdom would be to use the highest shutter speed possible. However, the XDCam is not that great at all for fast action, much less low-flying pictures over water and trees, even in the 35Mb/s mode.

But, even more important for heli shooting is the mount, the bird, and the pilot. Even more important than all of that is SAFETY (yep, yelling that out loud).

Seriously man, it takes a lot of knowledge and experience to do heli shooting. You need to be asking yourself questions like how good is the pilot, what are the limitations on the helicopter (especially weight and speed), what mount are you using, who's going to install it and are they experienced in its operation, where is the sun, what direction is the wind blowing, where might there be crosswinds/downwinds, what is the air temperature, how long can you stay airborne, how often do you need to refuel, are you and all gear and all other passengers insured, etc etc etc etc.?

If I were the producer knowing that you'd never done this before, I'd be verrrrry concerned. Not trying to turn you off, but be totally aware that it is all very complex and potentially even dangerous for the uninitiated. So, worry about that stuff first, and then your camera and shutter speed later.