8 years Shooting and Editing w/DVX100, Now I have a Pulldown/Interlace Issue!! Help!

Posted by ackronomicon 
I've been shooting with my DVX100 for 8 years always shoot regular 24p(not advanced) and I've always used the same capture presets(DV) and my timelines have always been the same standard DV30p timelines. Standard all across. Also used the same Powerbook G4 to edit with. Features, docs, shorts, pilots, weddings, whatever.....

I shot 2 projects recently and now there is a strange interlace issue, where 3 frames are fine, and 2 frames have terrible interlace separation. When I export my edit all diagonal lines crossing through the frame are jagged.

Also, when I look at my old digitized 24p DVX100 footage, it too is having the 3:2 interlace issue, when it never had it before.

I've tried every kind of capture preset, timeline option, frame rate option, etc that I could. I think this may be a QUICKTIME issue, because it was always fine before, and now I get the 3good:2bad Frame issue there too. Also for some reason when I digitize a 16:9 (Matted from 4:3 in camera, which means my 4:3 image is matted to "look" 16:9, final cut opens it as 4:3, but Quicktime stretches the image from 4:3 into a 16:9 frame. This also never happened before, and it's only happening on recently digitized footage. I know I recently updated quicktime, so maybe this is it?
My Quicktime Version is 7.6.6.
Final Cut Pro 6.0.6

Also I have tested this on 2 different Powerbook G4s, same issues all across.

Any help greatly appreciated!! I want to deliver my new projects in good quality, so I can eat and pay rent! I'm gonna be forced to deliver terrible looking DVDs!

Thanks for the help!!
Re: 8 years Shooting and Editing w/DVX100, Now I have a Pulldown/Interlace Issue!! Help!
June 07, 2010 08:36PM

I've been shooting with my DVX100 for 8 years always shoot regular 24p(not advanced)