FCP media management question

Posted by ianedit 
FCP media management question
June 26, 2010 07:20AM
So I had a two issues at work yesterday as I got sucked into some work typically done by the AE. I will describe the issue, then how I would have solved it in the Avid and how I tried to solve it in FCP and if someone can tell me how I went wrong or what I could have done better that would be appreciated. Sorry to bring Avid into the mix but it's what I know best and I am still learning FCP so Avid is my best frame of reference.

1/ The issue: So I was putting together a bloopers reel for a 16 episode series. Each episode had a reel already assembled by that episodes editor so all I was doing was making a master stringout. Two of the reels had been taken offline. So I went to batch digitize those two reels and I realized that the footage had been loaded by a PA and he had not entered the reel numbers into the logging info. He entered some kind of random note in the reel number column like "Chicago" or "A Camera Day" Luckily he had entered the reel number into the name of the clips.

2/ What I would do in Avid: I would decompose the sequence and change the tape numbers with the modify function then batch the clips.