Nested Sequence in Main Project Timeline Won't Open Anymore in Own Timeline (Tab)

Posted by Richard.M 
Nested Sequence in Main Project Timeline Won't Open Anymore in Own Timeline (Tab)
July 08, 2010 08:19PM
I don't know whether it is an advised workflow, (as I am for the most part self taught in FCP), but I am working on a project where I am using nested sequences, (for the different scenes), and then arranging them along with cutaways, etc., within the main projects timeline (sequence).

When I need to edit a scene within the main timeline, I double click it on the timeline, and it opens up in tab, in its own timeline. I can then make my changes and then close that tab and go back to the main project timeline.

All of a sudden, one of the nested sequences no longer opens up in tab on the timeline when I double click it, but only opens in the viewer/slug window. I tried using Preference Manager to delete FCP preferences, and still no joy. I can no longer edit this particular nested sequence. The other nested sequences, (scenes), so far still open in tab in their own timelines, as usual, and can be further edited.

You might say, well go to the projects bin, and find the nested sequence, and open it from there.
Well, the nested sequence is seemingly present in my projects bin, but, when I double click it, when it opens on the timeline in tab, even though it has the same name, it is not the same up to date sequence that is on my timeline. (I hope this makes sense...)