Best Terabyte Harddrive--on a Budget?

Posted by nlittrell 
Best Terabyte Harddrive--on a Budget?
July 22, 2010 04:07PM
What are your recommendations for a good one under $200 for editing with FCP?

Thanks!

Nicolle
Re: Best Terabyte Harddrive--on a Budget?
July 22, 2010 07:51PM
Internal? External enclosure?

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

July 22, 2010 07:58PM
If you're talking about an external drive with the casing, I won't recommend anything that price range.

www.strypesinpost.com
July 23, 2010 06:30AM
External drive. I'm a grad student and $200 is about the best I can do. Several years ago, someone here recommended a G-Tech (500 GB) and it's been great.

N
July 23, 2010 11:40AM
nlittrell

You can try B&H photo. They have a 1T Western Digital External-USB 2.0 & Firewire 800
HFS+ formatted for $139.00. Or a 2T External Western Digital USB 2.0 + Firewire 400 & 800 + eSATA + it's HFS+ formatted for $192.00

Just thought you might want to know

Russ Andris
July 23, 2010 12:40PM
A reliable EXTERNAL for $200? Nope.

Grad Student or not...your data is priceless. Scrape / borrow / steal & save more money and get a proper external or you will regret pinching the pennies later when your drive dies with all your work on it.

Believe me. It has happened to ALL OF US. I only let it happen to me ONCE...never again. My work is too important to me.

July 23, 2010 12:48PM
> You can try B&H photo. They have a 1T Western Digital External-USB 2.0 & Firewire 800
> HFS+ formatted for $139.00. Or a 2T External Western Digital USB 2.0 + Firewire 400 & 800 + > eSATA + it's HFS+ formatted for $192.00

I gotta disagree with that recommendation completely. From what I've seen, heard and used, Western Digital external drives are really bad. I've used about a dozen -- never bought by me -- and I've trusted a grand total of none of them.

www.derekmok.com
July 23, 2010 03:26PM