Converting HDV QT files to m2t?

Posted by DM 
DM
Converting HDV QT files to m2t?
August 04, 2010 08:52PM
Anyone know of a simple program that will convert this way? I have 4 hrs of HDV footage in Quicktime format that I recorded on a DTE compact flash recorder attached to my camera. The files open fine in FC-7 but I sent the QT files over to another editor and he cannot open them using Adobe CS4 (on a PC system). There seems to be QT plug-in components missing. I believe the best solution to this is to convert the QT files to .m2t files which are more native to the PC world. Lots of programs out there to go from .m2t to quicktime but not the other way around.

I don't want to use streamclip. Sorry but I find it way too difficult to understand (and I'm a tech guy) so I'll just chalk that up to personal preference.

thx in advance.

FC -3 Suite
Mac Pro
Re: Converting HDV QT files to m2t?
August 04, 2010 08:55PM
This seems to come up every couple weeks on the forum. A number of video codecs ? mostly MPEG-2-based ones, for licensing reasons ? are included with Final Cut Pro but not with the regular Quicktime software package.

What you've identified as the best solution is actually, to my mind, the worst of all possible solutions ? assuming it's even possible at all.

What you need to do is batch-convert all your media to an appropriate ProRes codec; ProRes LT would be a good starting point. The ProRes decoder is included with Quicktime, so everybody can play back ProRes files.

DM
August 04, 2010 09:08PM
thx for the reply.
I wonder if QT Pro might be a solution- if it's available for PC?

Don't get why the convert seems to be a bad idea in this case unless your referring to any manipulation of mpeg 2 files being a risk due to the missing I frames.
August 04, 2010 09:10PM
None of this has anything to do with Quicktime Pro. As I said, the ProRes decoders are included with Quicktime itself. Built right in.