Using 24p correctly

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
Using 24p correctly
November 29, 2010 09:38AM
I have been using the Canon 7D and progressive footage this past year, I have had mixed emotions about it. I have not used 24p or any flavor of progressive footage (I am from the US, BTW, and have been using HDV 1080i60 for the past 6 years). I am still learning, and that's why I'm posting now.

My opinion of the footage from the 7D is that it looks awesome on the computer/internet, it looks awesome on a Blu-ray, it looks pretty good on a SD DVD on a LCD TV, and it doesn't look very good on a SD-DVD on a tube TV.

I now understand that most hollywood DVDs are 24p with players adding the pulldown and interlacing, which is good to know.

However, in my experience, my 7D with 24p on a DVD does not look nearly as good as a typical hollywood DVD. My footage on a tube TV looks like a cheap film effect...it has the strobe/flicker look to it, which the hollywood DVDs don't have.

Someone on another board said "Should I train myself to like strobing video and call it a film effect?", because that's how I feel too. I don't think it looks as good and I have to pretend that it does.

I don't think I'm doing anything wrong in the conversion process from h.264 to ProRes...I am using the same method and settings (even Final Cut Pro settings) that many respectable people on this board recommend. However, I have only seen samples of their work online, where my stuff looks just as good.

Is there something in the DVD compression/authoring process that needs to be done differently than I have been doing for years with my interlaced footage. I use Compressor's presets for DVD encoding (DVD Best Settings 90 minutes or 120 minutes), and I just drop those files into DVD Studio Pro without changing any settings or doing anything different. Is there somewhere where I need to tell Compressor or DVDSP that it is 24p and it would handle it correctly?