Charging clients fees

Posted by chubby 
Charging clients fees
November 29, 2010 05:56PM
I have been a professional working editor for many years, currently I work in television. I most recently started to do some outside projects ie. webisodes/reels and shorts to mix it up creatively. My biggest flaw is that I low ball myself and wanted to get an idea of what people are charging for gigs like this. I'd appreciate anyones input.
Re: Charging clients fees
November 29, 2010 07:29PM
You charge what you are worth. How good are you? Do you have any awards? Accolades?

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

November 29, 2010 07:49PM
I have a Promax award...and yes, I am very good. it's translating that into a fee that always gets me mentally gridlocked. an hourly fee for me I feel would exhaust some of my potential gigs.
November 29, 2010 10:58PM
Best to scope out your local market -- check what area production houses charge to outside clients per hour for an edit suite and editor -- in DC it can range from 75 to 300 an hour depending on the toys and editor's professional level.

Are you a preditor (producer/editor) can you do it all? -- nimble with After Effects, Graphics? -- can you write and edit? -- can they leave you alone and wait for you deliver magic at the other end?

All these factors help you create your price.

If you are a portable editor (everything on your laptop/will travel) that's worth a premium to your client for you to bring your studio to them. Are you a hired gun using someone else's gear? -- then slide your fee on down to the lower end of the spectrum.

The more value you bring to the project - the more magic they think/know you can perform - the higher the hourly fee.