My video playback is gone!

Posted by aprilheather 
My video playback is gone!
February 03, 2011 02:03AM
I am a relatively new editor and I supposed to be editing on a speed filmmaking competition coming up very very soon! So I'm freaking out! I took some screen shots of my system, and decided to explain the problem in between the pictures (instead of explaining the problem here - then sending you to pictures elsewhere.)

Please see: [www.aprilheather.com]

If anyone can help me solve this, I will be SO grateful! Thank you.

April
Re: My video playback is gone!
February 03, 2011 05:06AM
What format is the footage you're working with? Is it just DV, or HDV or something else?

Some things I am thinking, on my way out the door;

There is a known bug with the ProKit upgrade which you may have downloaded when you upgraded. This generally causes FCP to crash on opening. What version of ProKit do you have?

What is your alpha set to? The fact that you get an image when you make the background display as white makes me wonder about alpha channels and composite modes..

Yes, if you have no DV device connected, you need to choose where to send your audio. If it's set to firewire, the signal is being sent out of the firewire port.

Check out Digitial rebellions FCS maintenance pack - there is a free trial. It helps in a lot of cases.

February 03, 2011 10:35AM
April,

A few things for you to consider:

• How full is your startup drive (provide actual numbers and a percentage, e.g., 250 GB out of 300 GB or 83% full)?
  • When you launched FCP after reinstalling it, it may have been asking you about your capture device (via your settings) and that it was missing. It may have also asked you about where to set your scratch disk.
  • The ProKit "issue" (if there really is one beyond isolated setups, most likely due to user configurations) doesn't apply to you, as you are running OS X 10.5.8 and not 10.6.x.