AVCHD Import

Posted by simple.human 
AVCHD Import
April 17, 2011 05:39AM
Hello everyone, I am not a professional but do work for theater groups and music groups. I am getting some AVCHD material on a Sony HDR-CX150 camera. How do I get it into FCP? There is a tutorial with the camera for transfer to iMovie but no mention of FCP. I suppose I should be grateful for that as it is mostly geared towards Windows. Can I import directly into FCP or first into iMovie and then into FCP? Is there a disadvantage to going into iMovie first and how do I get it from iMovie to FCP? The camera has a USB connection and an HDMI out. I am running FCP 6.0.6 on an iMac 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with Mac OS 10.5.8. Thanks. . ....Ian wright
Re: AVCHD Import
April 17, 2011 09:10AM
That camera shoots to AVCHD, so I'd imagine Sony would have either its own software for converting it, or a plugin for FCP that allows Log and Transfer to recognize the files and import them. Strangely, the documents are very fussy to find (usually you can find exactly the right plugin just by typing "Canon AVCHD FCP plugin" or something similar). This following document actually seems to suggest that the Sony AVCHD format doesn't require a plugin:

[pro.sony.com]

(Yes, I know the title of the manual is for NXCAM, but it has an AVCHD section)

I've actually read users who say you should connect the camera and then Log and Transfer. Never, ever do that. You never Log and Transfer directly from a memory card or a camera's internal storage. Always mount the camera on the Mac, copy the contents (including all folders and files, even ones you don't know are useful -- up from the very root of the file structure), and backup the contents to at least three different drives. Then you choose one active drive for your editing and mount the files into Log and Transfer from there.

www.derekmok.com
April 17, 2011 07:21PM