Getting The Shaft on a Payment

Posted by EntityMedia 
Getting The Shaft on a Payment
July 27, 2011 09:56PM
Hello,

I recently took a last-minute job as an editor on a show for ESPN2. We had less than a week to edit the show, and ended up spending about 95 hours in 5 days getting it completed for air.

The client was happy, it made air and the ratings were higher than they were hoping for.

Since then, the client has gone completely dark on communication. No text, email, phone call responses. Upon investigating I've learned that the on-site production crew hasn't been paid, the tech manager hasn't been paid, the motion graphics artist and myself... all haven't been paid.

In 16 years of working production, and 5 years being a solo freelance editor, I have yet to deal with this situation. I learned today that the previous production company pulled out from working on this show due to lack of payment on the two shows prior (although I was told differently).

So, the question becomes... now what? This was an ESPN production, not a buy in. I'm going to try and reach out to someone at ESPN tomorrow, but ultimately it appears as though we'll all have an uphill battle to get paid.

Anyone have any experience with this kind of thing? Maybe some advice?

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Chris

cwilliams@entity-media.com
[www.entity-media.com]
Re: Getting The Shaft on a Payment
July 28, 2011 01:20AM
Well, i can't advise you too much, since i am not a legal consultant, but the definition "works for hire" also means that you need to be hired, and to be hired, you need to be paid (at least a dollar). If you aren't paid, you aren't hired, and ESPN has no rights to broadcast the show. So if push comes to shove, get a good lawyer.

www.strypesinpost.com
July 28, 2011 03:44AM
Add another "production company" to the list

[hollywoodcrewblacklist.blogspot.com]

Is this a company that is an independent contractor to ESPN?
July 28, 2011 09:55AM