Have you used either of these RAID 5 enclosures?

Posted by RJ 
RJ
Have you used either of these RAID 5 enclosures?
July 28, 2011 09:09AM
I'm starting a graphics intensive project and I need a low-cost RAID 5 enclosure. If you've had experience with either of these please give me a thumbs up or down. These are the two I'm considering:

OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
[eshop.macsales.com]

Stardom SOHO RAID
[eshop.macsales.com]

I'm tending toward the OWC since I'll be able to call them for tech support if need be. Also, anyone know if Avid's drive filtering will accept these?

Thanks,

-Russ
Re: Have you used either of these RAID 5 enclosures?
July 28, 2011 02:02PM
Stardom SOHO RAID - yes. I do not recommend. I had a lot of problems and returned it. OWC has hooked me up in every way to date. I buy most of my stuff from them now.

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

July 28, 2011 02:11PM
I've been using the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 for about nine months, exclusively in RAID0 pairs. Decent performance, good price. No problems yet. But two gripes I had:

1. The OWC sales guy gave me wrong information. I was looking for a unit that could accept both RAIDed drive pairs and also use drives in single JBOD configuration. The sales guy told me the Qx2 could do it. It cannot.

2. The door is horrible. You can only pull the key out of the lock if it's in locked mode. Which means if you lock the door, pull the key out and the key is lost, you can't access the drives. I actually took the lock apart because I was so frustrated with it, and I'm using the door just as a cover now. What's the point, anyway, of putting a lock on a unit that's light enough to carry off in your arms wholesale?

www.derekmok.com
RJ
July 28, 2011 03:02PM
Thank you, guys.

Derek, I had a feeling about that lock when I saw the picture of it and you just confirmed that. Seems like a good unit otherwise.
July 28, 2011 03:28PM