Media File Sizes

Posted by Mike Hardcastle 
Media File Sizes
March 05, 2012 06:35PM
I've had a good prowl around the forum but can't find anything directly bearing on this.

I'm just getting into a project which involves 3 to 4 hundred hours of archive material on U-matic, 1", 2", BetaSP and Digibeta. It's likely that we will be digitising the lot, upscaling to 1080 through a Snell & Wilcox standards converter. Probably as Prores HQ.

Roughly half the tapes are 30 minuters, the rest 90's.

According to Digital Rebellion's marvellous new iPad app (Video Space), 30 minutes of 1080 Prores HQ will make a file of about 37 GB if digitised in one gulp. The 90's will be just over 110 GB.

My question is whether there are any issues for FCP 7 in dealing with such huge file sizes ?

Would there be any advantage in using the "Limit Capture/Export file segment size" technique Jude mentioned in this post a few days ago ?:
[www.lafcpug.org]

The media will be on 12TB e-SATA RAID 5 drives. I'm working on the basis that each drive will be capable of holding about 95 hours (12TB RAID 5 gives 9TB capacity. Allowing for 20% overhead, usable space is 7.2TB.) Any comments on that ?

As always, thanks in advance.

Mike
Re: Media File Sizes
March 05, 2012 06:54PM
Nope - just finishing a feature film in 1080p24 ProRes 4444 from the Alexa and 1h48 comes in around 200GB and at much higher data rate than 29.97 ProRes HQ.

You are working well within the limits as long as your drives are running correctly and supplying the bandwidth for however many streams of video you want at any one time.

Personally I'd save space and overheads and digitise the uprezed SD to plain old ProRes 422 HD as you really won't see the difference in the quality from those sources it will be so minor.

Sure use ProRes HQ for the graphics and mastering but unless you are acquiring really high quality images from film or high resolution digital ProRes HQ will be wasting HDD space.