Media Drives

Posted by preditor 
Media Drives
March 15, 2012 12:23PM
Time to buy a couple of more working drives...I have several GRaids...very reliable, but now taken over by Hitachi, as I understand it. What's the running favorite now, in the same price range? Looking for 4TB, not minis...should Thunderbolt be a consideration?

Thanks!
Re: Media Drives
March 16, 2012 12:30PM
Caldigit VR is a good one. I have one at home, and two at work.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
March 16, 2012 03:17PM
I have been using a CalDigit VR 2 TB unit for a few years with no issues and yesterday I just received my new CalDigit VR2 6 TB unit ($759.05 / Free shipping / no tax) from Safe Harbor:

[www.sharbor.com]

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

March 17, 2012 04:22PM
Is there any overwhelming reason to put together my first RAID with SSD drives? They are considerably more expensive and the storage is smaller than a standard drive. Basically I'm trying to stay under $1500, but speed up my system to handle all-HD workflow. Is internal raid preferrable to external? Thanks.

My system:

OS 10.6.8 (Snow L)
FCP 7
factory standard Nvidia card for 1st gen. quad tower
5 gigs RAM
2.66 Ghz
bus speed 1.33 ghz

2 internal drives:
main 250 gig (OS & apps)
2nd 650 gigs (media storage)
March 17, 2012 07:26PM
An SSD as your system drive will speed up your boot time, app loading and virtual memory swapping so you will notice generally quicker workflow where the system disk is involved.

SSDs for media storage are great but as you said VERY expensive per GB but its coming down all the time.

You need to work out what your needs are.

How much storage do you think you'll need at any one time for the sort of work you do? HD footage and renders take up a lot more space than SD so this should be your starting point.

You have a budget so try to get the best bang for your buck.