OT: Cooler Internal Drives With 3 Inside

Posted by J.Corbett 
OT: Cooler Internal Drives With 3 Inside
March 22, 2012 09:43AM
Last year i had my 1st drive fail completely. It was because the head had over heated and melted, as they told me. He also told me this:

The inside of a Mac is hotter than a PC and for every drive that you put in, this temperature goes up. Try not to fill all bays and your other 3 drives will run cooler.

I Confirmed this buy looking at past temp reading compared to now. The past temps i kept in a written log. I had been keeping since July of 2011. Now 3 months into the 2012 with monthly temp logs i can confirm that my drives are running about 10-15* cooler than when i had 4.

The Hitachi HDD in slot4 that at one time would average 135* now averages 117*. This was my hottest drive.

Bay1 - Samsung F1: THEN 107* / Now 95*

Bay2 - Hitachi Deskstar: Then 127* / Now 115*

Bay3 - NONE

Bay4 - Hitachi Deskstar: Then 135* / Now 117*

These number are taken after the tower has been running for 4 hrs and it only shoots up 2-5* during heavy write to sessions.

""" What you do with what you have, is more important than what you could do, with what you don't have."

> > > Knowledge + Action = Wisdom - J. Corbett 1992
""""
Re: OT: Cooler Internal Drives With 3 Inside
March 22, 2012 10:29AM
Just to make a comparison - Mac Pro 1,1

Bay1 - WD-Black Carver-1TB-Boot :73°

Bay2 - Seagate-1.5TB :75°

Bay3 - Seagate-1.5TB :75°

Bay4 - WD-250GB-Used for Photoshop scratch only :77°

Hard Drive Temperature readings:

WD-Black Carver :90°

Seagate :84°

Seagate :84°

WD-250GB :84°

I'm in Tucson, so the temps should go up during the hot freak'en summer.

I had three WD drives fail in the last 2 years. But they were 5 or 6 years old.
March 22, 2012 02:56PM
WoW

I wonder if Seagate & WD run cooler by design.

I am a Hitachi guy, But i wish my 2,1 could run that cool. The drive that failed was a Seagate but it ran at 112*F.

How often you blow out the dust?