Mixed formats/creating 1080p or 1080i sequence.

Posted by mbeckelhimer1 
Mixed formats/creating 1080p or 1080i sequence.
May 26, 2012 01:23AM
In one FCP7 project, I'm mixing footage in these three formats:

HDV 1080p30
HDV 1080i60
H.264

Questions:

1. Should I set up my sequence(s) in 1080p or 1080i? Which is better?
2. Do I need to (or, should I) convert the other formats before dropping them into the timeline, or should I just render them? They seem to render okay, but I'm not experienced enough to understand the implications, so I'd appreciate some advice and explanations.

Thanks.
Re: Mixed formats/creating 1080p or 1080i sequence.
May 29, 2012 09:11PM
mbeckelhimer1
...1080p or 1080i? Which is better?

This is an aesthetic question you must answer for yourself (assuming there is no overriding commercial constraint).

mbeckelhimer1
...should I...convert the other formats before dropping them into the timeline, or should I just render them?

Either choice you make, 30p or 60i, preconversion using Compressor will give much better quality than rendering in FCP7.

If you decide to convert your 60i material to 30p, deinterlace using Compressor's "best" setting.
(FCP7 render throws half the fields away!)

If you decide to convert your 30p material to 60i, make these two steps.
First, use Compressor to slow the clip to 50% speed. In Encoder>Video Settings under Motion set frame rate to 30 fps; in the Frame Controls pane, turned ON, set Rate Conversion to BEST and set Duration to 200% of source. (You could also use Apple Motion's optical flow to do this.)
Second, use Compressor to convert the slowed 30p to normal speed 60i. In Encoder>Video Settings under Motion set frame rate to 30 fps and under Compressor check Interlaced (Top or Bottom field first as appropriate); in the Frame Controls pane, turned ON, set Rate Conversion to FAST, set Output Fields to Top or Bottom first as appropriate, and set Duration to 50% of source.