Out of sync

Posted by Margo 
Out of sync
June 04, 2012 02:58PM
I've been using FCP for over 8 years. This is the first time I've had this issue. Here it is:

I shoot on tape. Using a Sony DSR 45 or 11 I import the clips into FCP 6.06. I double click into the viewer and begin playing it back. Slowly, the audio and video move out of sync. I put the clip into the timeline - it's still out of sync.

Don't have a clue why this is happening.

I've played back other edited programs just to double check and there is no sync problem.

I've swapped decks and the same sync problem occurs.

I've imported the same footage on my home system - no sync problem.

Any suggestions? I'm really stumped and I'm now moving close to a deadline.

Thanks -

Margo
Re: Out of sync
June 04, 2012 03:24PM
Are you trying to capture a whole tape as one clip? Not a good practice.

Also, what kind of storage drive are you using to store the captured clips? You also didn't say what settings you used to capture the clips.

You're looking in the wrong place. It's highly improbable that the tapes and the deck are the problem. Did you check the tapes without a computer in the equation -- ie. played the tapes to a broadcast monitor?

www.derekmok.com
June 04, 2012 04:59PM
Hi Derek -

I have always captured all footage as one clip. I read your answer from 2010 and captured several clips running about 1-2 minutes. Still out of sync. Then I took the clips and exported them as QT movies self contained. They play perfectly. I dragged them back into FCP and they still are perfectly in sync. So that's what I'm doing now.

Audio is 48hz on camera and FCP. I have the settings at basic NTSC. The tapes look fine on a broadcast monitor - like I said, they export perfectly on my home system.

I have a GSafe as my external drive, but I'm beginning to think I don't have enough oomph left on this old G5.

It's really frustrating and I appreciate your quick response. Any other suggestions?

Thanks again -

Margo