Sawtoothing on DVD

Posted by preditor 
Sawtoothing on DVD
September 03, 2012 02:26PM
Is there a way to minimize the "sawtoothing" I see on my SD DVDs? My project is shot 1080i, AVCHD in a ProResHQ timeline. Fullres output, then into compressor using the default 90 min SD DVD setting...burned with DVDPro. Looks great out of the edit system (FCP 7) and when the DVD is played on a large monitor, but the "sawtooth" edges really show up on flat screen TVs.

Thanks!
Re: Sawtoothing on DVD
September 05, 2012 03:11AM
i have no hands-on experience with this, but...

i have seen advice that recommends a first pass though compressor to reduce the frame size.
actually the advice i saw was recommending After Effects.
better scaling, or maybe just faster than Compressor's "Best" setting.

THEN you make the DVD.
i seem to recall i asked about tweaking the Compressor DVD setting to give it better re-scaling,
and the reply was that would be a longer process (downscaling and converting to mpeg at the same time).

just passing on what i read.
hope it helps

nick
September 05, 2012 08:26AM
This tutorial works well for HDV combing. Never tried it with AVCHD.

[www.kenstone.net]

September 06, 2012 02:27PM
preditor
Looks great ... when the DVD is played on a large monitor, but the "sawtooth" edges really show up on flat screen TVs.

Why this difference? The first play uses a software player, perhaps Apple DVD player, together with the computer's graphics card. The second play uses an altogether different player and graphics brain. How much sawtoothing is really in the mpeg-2? The first player could be smoothing it. The second player could be exaggerating it.

The .VOB file can be played with MPEG Streamclip, with the window set to 100%, and closely examined. How's the sawtoothing?