our various gamma filters

Posted by dcouzin 
our various gamma filters
September 07, 2012 10:53PM
FCP7 offers two gamma filters: "Gamma" and "Gamma Correction". Compressor3.5 offers one gamma filter: "Gamma Correction". The three filters work differently.

One trivial difference is that FCP7's "Gamma" filter interprets gamma inversely to the other two. So when comparing how the three filters effect gamma, you must enter, for example, 0.5 in the FCP7 "Gamma" filter and enter 2 in the other two filters. After doing this there are still three quite different gamma filterings done by these three filters.

Finding no serious documentation on these filters, I studied them experimentally. The experiments covered 8-bit Y' only. Findings*:

FCP7 "Gamma"
This is the clearest, simplest gamma filter. It presumes the input video has the standard range of Y' values 16-to-235. The range 16-to-235 is linearly shrunk to the real number interval 0-to-1, then raised to the power gamma, and then expanded back to the 16-to-235 range. So regardless of gamma, black value 16 remains 16 and white value 235 remains 235.

Compressor3.5 "Gamma Correction"
This is a pretty wild take on video gamma. It presumes the input video has the Y' range 0-to-255. That's a bit beyond the extended video range 1-to-254. The range 0-to-255 is linearly shrunk to the real number interval 0-to-1, then raised to the power gamma, and then expanded back to the 0-to-255 range. So regardless of gamma, the sub-black value 0 remains 0 and the super-white value 255 would remain 255 except it is output as 254.

FCP7 "Gamma Correction"