Audio shifting out of sync in FCP 7

Posted by CDavis 
Audio shifting out of sync in FCP 7
October 09, 2012 11:02AM
hello LACPUG!

I'm an assistant editor at Best Boy Entertainment in Canada. We've noticed a problem with syncing audio in FCP 7 that we haven't really seen or heard of anywhere else. It's footage shot on a Canon 5D MK2, transcoded to ProRes 422, and then synced with audio using the slate clap and in/out points. Here's the problem: the recorded audio seems to shift ahead of the camera's audio, by a different amount each time. It appeared fine and in-sync at first, but when the project was copied to and opened on another machine, it all went out of sync. Literally the only difference in the projects is a few bins were changed to different labels. We think that it may be taking the in points from where the original recorded audio starts, not the ones we've created in the project, and syncing it with that, thus shifting it ahead by the differences in points. Again we're not entirely sure what's causing this, so any feedback or suggestions is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Christian Davis
Assistant Editor
Best Boy Entertainment
Re: Audio shifting out of sync in FCP 7
October 09, 2012 11:56AM
Are you using a USB drive? USB can't be used for editing and may result in playback stutters that cause sync drifts.

Possibility #2: Did you use an MP3 recorder for the audio? If you tried to use MP3 directly in the sync timeline, it could also result in the problem you're seeing.

Possibility #3: Did you use the H.264 clips from the Canon 5DmkII directly in your FCP timeline? That is a big no-no.

The problem you're describing sounds like timecode issues, which can happen with any format that wasn't designed for editing (H.264 video, MP3 audio).