Panasonic P2 Cameras

Posted by Don B. 
Panasonic P2 Cameras
November 26, 2012 08:23AM
I am in need of a major upgrade in TV cameras.
One of the cameras I am considering is the Panasonic P2 camera.

1) Is there anyone out there that has experience using them?
-or-
2) Can you direct me to a camera forum website that has videographers'
real world experience using these cameras ( or any other brand )?

Thanks / Don B.
Re: Panasonic P2 Cameras
November 26, 2012 10:22AM
Why P2 specifically?

There is the F5 and the F55 from Sony to consider...
[blog.vincentlaforet.com]

www.strypesinpost.com
November 26, 2012 12:33PM
Thanks for the reply.
Actually, what I want to do is not to make "films" it is to make TV programs.
To have the least amount of compression with the largest chip.
November 26, 2012 01:32PM
I'm not a production guy, so I really don't know too much about cameras, but here are some links you can check out:

[www.hurlbutvisuals.com]

[www.dvxuser.com]

If you ask me, 4K will probably be the next big thing, and having that option around isn't going to hurt.

As far as compression is concerned, complex compression schemes do not matter too much in post, depending on the NLE you are using. Most modern NLEs can easily deal with the H.264 and Mpeg2 compressions used in most cameras, in some cases they can even work fluidly with RAW.

www.strypesinpost.com
November 26, 2012 03:59PM
ive been using p2 cameras for years. and as a recording medium. i love P2. but it is just that. a recording medium.
has very little in and of itself to do with what youre shooting.