Conform 60fps tp 24 fps for FCP7

Posted by UWmopic 
Conform 60fps tp 24 fps for FCP7
November 26, 2012 11:17PM
I'm new to this forum and have a couple of questions someone might be able to help me with. For this post I'll stick with the most pressing and ask the other question later.

I've been using Final Cut for several years but mostly stuck to very basic, simple editting. As I upgrade to cameras with increasing capabilities, I also delve into new (to me) aspects of FCP. I'm now on Mac OS 10.6.8 and Final Cut Pro 7.0, and shooting with a Sony NEX-5N in an underwater housing, and an NEX-VG 20 for surface work. Both have 60fps capability (AVCHD2).

Most of my video work is underwater, and 60 fps is great for slowing and smoothing the movement of fish but creates a problem for importing the video. When I shoot at 60fps and try to use "log and transfer" to import the video into a project, FCP does not recognize my memory card. If I shoot at 24 or 30 fps there is no problem. The online help I have found lead me to Media Converter (Rewrap AVCHD for Quicktime) which gets me useable video that I can import. Another online search showed me to open the imported clip in Cinema Tools where I should be able to conform it to 24 fps (40% slow motion) or 30 fps (50% slow motion), however, the Conform button is not functional (not highlighted, won't work). I have, as a test, opened 24 and 30 fps video in Cinema Tools and the Conform button was active. What I've been doing to get around this is use the Modify Speed function on FCP, but am running into some terribly long render times.

Does anyone have any ideas that could smooth this process out?
Re: Conform 60fps tp 24 fps for FCP7
November 27, 2012 12:39AM
>The online help I have found lead me to Media Converter (Rewrap AVCHD for
>Quicktime)

That's spamware. They pay off SEO rankings on Google. I'd use Clipwrap instead, as it comes from a more credible developer.

[www.divergentmedia.com]