Music concert: how to shoot multi DSLRs

Posted by jazz72piano 
Music concert: how to shoot multi DSLRs
October 12, 2013 04:01AM
I’m a musician and recording engineer (pro/amateur). I would love to video music concerts with multiple DSLRs, but would like to bypass the audio recording from the cameras completely. I know some about audio recording, but nothing about video. If I wanted to record 2 or 3 DSLRs during a concert, how would I sync the video content? Is this a SMPTE thing or a something done with Final Cut Pro? In the past I have basically drag and dropped the audio file into the iMovie viewer, lined up the waves (used a hand clap or snare before song), trashed the camera audio and viola. Everything seemed to line up (did this per song, I’ve heard after long durations the sync go awry).

I’ve invested already in good mics, preamps, etc.. Interested in video, maybe a GH3 and one or two good lenses, but not much more (well I guess that depends on the results). Promoting musicians through video (online especially) is crucial for our survival!

Any words of wisdom are much appreciated. Thanks again for great info!
Re: Music concert: how to shoot multi DSLRs
October 12, 2013 06:42AM
> but would like to bypass the audio recording from the cameras completely.

You never, ever record live video without the audio. Even if it's bad audio, it's 50 times faster to sync using an audio cue than to try to use visuals.

> Is this a SMPTE thing or a something done with Final Cut Pro?

DSLRs have no timecode, just a vague time-of-day stamp. To sync with DSLRs, using audio is your only choice, or you can use a slate with a timecode readout (not practical with multi-camera concert shoots).

www.derekmok.com
October 12, 2013 07:16AM
hi Jazz.

the simplest way to sync these sorts of things in FCP is via the waveforms of the audio.
good news is it can be automated.

if you are using FCP7, you need 3rd party software, such as Pluralyes, or the less well known WooWave.